As I’ve befriended and have been mentored by some of my pastors, I’ve come to realize that they probably hear more from the minority of people who are disgruntled than from the majority who really love and appreciate them and what they do. I suppose this is in our natures: the tendency to speak up only when we have a problem with something. Well, my wife and I have decided to be among a vocal majority who challenge that tendency, and we want to bring as many people with us as we can!

So I’m starting the “Love Your Pastors” campaign. Hebrews 13:7, 17 say this:

“Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith. Obey…and submit to them, for they are keeping watch over your souls, as those who will have to give an account. Let them do this with joy and not with groaning, for that would be of no advantage to you.”

I am appalled when I hear of all the petty complaints that my pastors have to deal with. I am distressed that my pastors sometimes dread opening their email inboxes on Monday morning (after pouring out their souls for us on Sunday) because of the “hate mail” (their words, not mine) that will be waiting for them. And I have a feeling that my pastors are not alone.

When is the last time you sent an encouraging email to your pastor or pastors? When is the last time you prayed for them? When is the last time you asked them how they are doing and really listened instead of just dumping your own problems? When is the last time you found them after a service and told them how much you appreciate the way God uses their gifts to edify you?

These are questions that I’ve been asking myself lately. And, quite frankly, my answers stink. But I have already started making a conscious effort toward change. Praying for our pastors should be a given. My goal is to verbally (or in writing) encourage at least one of my pastors every week.

My church has a regular weekly service attendance of nearly 1000 people. What if just ten percent of us regularly encouraged our pastors each week? How would their Monday mornings feel if the typical ratio of encouraging emails to “hate mail” were completely turned upside down? How would you feel if 100 people told you this week that they love you and appreciate you and are praying for you?

Remember that Disney/Pixar movie called Monsters, Inc.? The monster city (Monstropolis) was powered by the screams of children afraid of monsters in their bedrooms at night, but the city was facing a power crisis. By the end of the film, they discovered that a child’s laughter was a much more potent energy source, like nuclear fusion compared to a AA battery. Encouragement and love have a similarly empowering effect on others.

I know there are many people who are faithful encouragers, but there are also many like me who just don’t think about it. So, will you join us on our quest to encourage our pastors each week? Will you encourage others to join you? Spread the word! Let’s overwhelm our pastors with love! Let’s give them the honor they deserve!

About the Author Paul Keew

Christ-follower, husband, father, composer, hymnwriter, singer, creator of Watchsong.com, fellow-struggler in the fight for joy...all by God's grace.

2 comments

  1. Thank you – I am sharing this on Facebook. As a preacher’s kid and now a church secretary, I have found this to be true. Unfortunately, Pastors most often hear the negative, and don’t get much positive feedback. I am going to try this at my church.

Leave a Reply

